Development at the former Pinchin Farm and the Leslie Log House
As many have undoubtedly noticed, the long-anticipated demolition of the Pinchin house and barn recently took place. Unfortunately, it was not possible to save either the historic house or barn due to advance decay and structural uncertainty. It was unfortunate to lose two significant structures such as these. The main farmhouse was built in a rare plank-on-plank style, and was originally built by the Rundle-O’Neill family circa 1865. The barn was likely built a short time late, circa 1875.
The Leslie Log House, which was built circa 1826 by the Leslie family, was relocated to this property in 1994. The Leslie Log House will remain on the property, and a working committee is already formed between the City of Mississauga, Museums of Mississauga and the Streetsville Historical Society to see the log house renovated and made accessible. The Log House is slated to become the new home of the Streetsville Historical Society and Archives.
For more information on the history of this unique property, which is now owned by the City of Mississauga and destined for a future park, please contact Heritage Mississauga. For information on the Streetsville Historical Society and the Leslie Log House rehabilitation project, please contact the Streetsville Historical Society.
UPDATE: In late December 2009 the heritage structures on the City-owned property, known locally as the Pinchin Property, were demolished. Sadly, the demolition was necessary due to the advanced deterioration of the buildings. Notable were the farmhouse and barn, built by the Rundle and O’Neill families circa 1870. The property is also home to a remnant apple orchard – Mississauga’s last commercial apple orchard which closed in 2004. Also on the property is the historically designated Leslie Log House, which was relocated here in 1994. The Leslie Log House will is slated to become the future home of the Streetsville Historical Society Archives.