905-828-8411 info@heritagemississauga.org

The Credits

THE CREDITS is Heritage Mississauga’s annual event taking place Friday October 30, 2020, which honours members of the Mississauga community for their contributions and achievements with a celebration of our community heritage. Heritage Mississauga has recognized “Heritage Heroes” in the community for over 23 years, presenting the Credits gala for the last seven.

This is a special year for us, since it’s Heritage Mississauga’s 60th Anniversary!

This year we encourage you to dress in 1960s themed attire.
There will be a PRIZE for the best dressed!

Evening Awards Gala: Friday October 30, 2020
Registration: 5:00pm
Program Begins (Dinner & Awards): 6:00pm

Mississauga Grand Banquet and Event Centre
35 Brunel Road
Mississauga, ON L4Z 3E8

Attendees are invited to wear 1960s attire!


Deadline to nominate: Sunday May 31 at 5:00pm EST. Nominate your heritage hero here!

$75.00 each
$650.00 for a table of 10

Register Now
Name of Ticketholder or Table

Contact Kelly Ralston
(905) 828-8411 ext 0

Mayor & Gil Moore
Anu Srivastava

2019 Award Winners

Heritage Lifetime Achievement Award

Presented to an individual who has contributed 20+ years to preserving and promoting Mississauga’s heritage and whose leadership, initiative and commitment has resulted in an increased awareness of community heritage and an inspiration to others.

  • Hazel McCallion

President’s Award

This award is presented to someone who has given outstanding contributions to the community, advocated, promoted and celebrated the milestones it has achieved.

  • Gil Moore

Chairman’s Award

This award is presented to a member of the community who gives of themselves to be a mentor, a friend, a heritage advocate. A hero who supports organizations great or small, making a positive impact helping to create a better community.

  • Anu Srivastava

Heritage Champion Award

Presented to an elected government official or member of provincial or municipal staff who has championed the cause of heritage and who has gone above and beyond their normal duties to support and promote heritage programs.

  • Senator Victor Oh

Betty Ross Volunteer Memorial Award

This volunteer Appreciation award is named in honour of Betty Ross who was a long-serving, dedicated, and well-loved volunteer with both Heritage Mississauga and the Museums of Mississauga. It is presented by each organization in alternate years to honour a volunteer’s significant contribution supporting staff in their work.

  • John Pegram

Heritage Legacy Award

Presented to an individual, organization or community group who have initiated cross-generational activities with the goal to foster awareness, promote and nurture the advancement of heritage through tradition, culture and community bringing generations together towards a common purpose.

  • Annemarie Hagan
  • Mississauga Central Lions Club

Mississaugas of the Credit Cultural and Heritage Award

Presented to a member from any community who has demonstrated a commitment to awareness and preservation of the Mississaugas of the New Credit culture, traditions, community and heritage.

  • Sam Cooper & Meadowvale Community Church

Heritage Business Leader Award

Presented to an individual or business who has shown vision and a commitment to preserving heritage, demonstrating leadership, furthering heritage values and fostering a sense of place and pride in the community.

  • Colin Tyler
  • Don McVie
  • Erick Marroquin
  • Nations Fresh Foods

Community Heritage Award

Recognized in two categories; individuals and groups, who have preserved, communicated and engaged the community in the celebration of Mississauga’s heritage.

  • Angela Chao
  • Angie Câmara
  • ICNA Relief Canada
  • Khawla Taha
  • Mississauga Big Band Jazz Ensemble
  • Portuguese Cultural Centre of Mississauga Folklore Group

Cultural Heritage Award

Recognized in two categories; individual and groups, who have engaged the community in the celebration of Mississauga’s diverse cultural heritage.

  • Alexandra Montealegre
  • Canadian Latino Experimental Theatre (CLET)
  • Indigenous Spirit Journey
  • Isabel Cuellar
  • Manos Unidas
  • Maria de Fátima Esteves
  • Mississauga Board of Chinese Professionals and Businesses (CPB)
  • Nitin Sawant
  • Vikas Kohli
  • Visual Arts Mississauga “Days To Remember Book”

Heritage Youth Award

Presented to individuals or groups aged 12 to 30, whose project or activities have resulted in outstanding contributions to the promotion and celebration of heritage and whose actions have resulted in inspiring their peers to become involved in heritage.

  • Selena Xu
  • Memory Kits Project: Small Arms Society & Centennial College
  • Sumayya Mehmood

Natural Heritage Award

Presented to individuals or groups who have demonstrated a commitment to conservation through activities that protect, promote and enhance Mississauga’s natural heritage resources.

  • Mississauga Executive Centre
  • Jim Judge

Architectural Heritage Award

Presented in recognition of a property or landmark that celebrates cultural heritage through architecture that engages the local community in the exploration and preservation of our shared cultural heritage.

  • Crooked Cue
  • Roc’n Doc’s

Modern Heritage Award

Presented to an individual or group whose project or activities celebrate urban growth and innovation, promoting heritage and creating a sense of place and pride in the Mississauga community.

  • CreateConvergence
  • Pam Banks
  • Rock The Coliseum
  • Visual Arts Mississauga

Volunteer Heritage Award

The award is presented to an individual who has volunteered 10+ years within the city and has shown leadership, mentorship and community engagement as an ambassador for cultural heritage.

  • David Sanderson
  • Frank Stendardo
  • Jenny Dale
  • Leslie Zurek-Silvestri
  • Linda Amos
  • Pierre Wong
  • Resty del Rosario